Board of Directors


Grace Weatherford

Board President

Grace is a Managing Senior Engineer at Anchor QEA and a graduate of Marlboro College (BA American Studies) and Portland State University (MS Civil/ Env. Engineering). Grace is the President of WIE. Her email is gweatherford@anchorqea.com

Anju Wicke_smallified_02-26-18.jpg

Anju Wicke

Board Vice President

Anju is a Principal Scientist with Geosyntec Consultants with over 25 years of experience. Anju is currently a Vice President of WIE and is based in the San Francisco Bay Area. She is a graduate of the University of California San Diego and University of San Francisco.  Her email is avigwicke@gmail.com.


Christina Merten

Board Vice President

Christina is a Professional Engineer and Wetland Scientist with over 20 years of experience.  She is a graduate of Texas A&M University as well as Certificate Programs with University of Washington.  Christina is the WIE Vice President and a member of the Seattle Networking Committee.  Her email is environina@hotmail.com


Michelle Havey

Board Treasurer

 Michelle is a managing fisheries biologist at Anchor QEA and a graduate of the University of Washington School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences (BS and MS). In addition to serving as the WIE Treasurer, she serves as chair of the WIE Budget Committee.  Her email is mhavey@anchorqea.com.


Marsi Beeson

Board Secretary

 Marsi is an environmental scientist and Senior Project Manager at GeoEngineers, Inc. specializing in due diligence, site assessment and cleanup. She is a graduate of Portland State University. Marsi is currently serving as the WIE Board Secretary and serves on the Portland Networking Committee.  Marsi's email is mbeeson@geoengineers.com


Meg Strong

Chair, Strategic Planning Committee

 Meg is a Vice President and Hydrogeologist at Shannon & Wilson, Inc.  She is a graduate of universities in the UK (BS), and Ireland (MS).  Meg  is a past WIE President (2017) and past chair of the Seattle mentoring committee.  Her email is MJS@shanwil.com


Danille Jorgensen

Danille is an Environmental Data Manager at Landau Associates.  She is a graduate of the University of Washington with undergraduate degrees in Chemistry and Environmental Studies.  Danille serves on the Seattle Networking Committee. Her email is DJorgensen@landauinc.com


Rachel McDermott

Rachel is an Environmental Professional at AECOM. She has a MS degree in Environmental Science from the University of Cologne and a BS degree in Environmental Science from the State University of New York at Oneonta.  Rachel serves on the WIE communications committee.  Her email is Rachel.M.McDermott@gmail.com


Rabia Ahmed

Rabia is a Principal Economist and Managing Partner at Greene Economics, LLC. She has an MS degree in Economics from Portland State University. Rabia is the Chair of the Seattle Networking Committee, and also serves on the Budget, Fundraising, Strategic Planning, and Seattle Education committees.  Rabia's email is rahmed@greeneeconomics.com.


Joanna Florer

Chair, Seattle Mentoring Committee

Joanna is a Senior Environmental Program Manager for the Port of Seattle. She earned he her BS in aquatic toxicology from Western Washington University and her MS in Environmental Management from the University of San Francisco. Joanna is the chair of the Seattle Mentoring Committee.  Her email is florer.j@portseattle.org


Jessica Brown

Jessica is a Certified Project Management Professional and Licensed Geologist at Sound Transit. She graduated from Western Washington University with a degree in Environmental Geology.  In addition to serving on the WIE Board, Jessica is a member of the Strategic Visioning and Seattle Mentoring Committees.  Her email is  rocksaregneiss@gmail.com


Laura Kerr

Laura Kerr is an attorney at Stoel Rives LLP, with a focus on environmental and natural resources law.  She helps clients solve complex challenges arising under federal and state environmental laws. Laura is a graduate of Lewis & Clark Law School (with a certificate in Environmental and Natural Resources Law) and Macalester College.  Her email is laura.kerr@stoel.com


Mala Pattanayek

Chair, Bay Area Mentoring Committee

Mala is a Senior Consultant working at Integral Consulting in San Francisco, CA.  Mala has a B.S. in Microbiology and Biochemistry from the University of Mumbai, India and a M.S. in Environmental Toxicology from Clemson University, South Carolina.  She serves as chair for the Bay Area Mentoring Committee.  Mala's email is mpattanayek@integral-corp.com


Monica Wright

Chair, Portland Education Committee

Monica is an Air Quality Scientist with Jacobs.  Monica received her bachelor’s degree in Chemistry from Wheaton College in Massachusetts and her doctorate in Environmental Sciences and Resources: Chemistry from Portland State University.  Her email is monica.e.wright@gmail.com


Steffran Neff

Steffran (Steff) is a chemical engineer and certified Project Management Professional at Brown and Caldwell. Steff earned a  B.S. in Chemical Engineering from Lehigh University.  Her email is steffneff@brwncald.com


Sarah Betz

Chair, Portland Networking Committee

Sarah is an Environmental Specialist and Project Manager at David Evans and Associates, Inc.  She holds a bachelor’s degree in biology from the University of Puget Sound and a master’s degree in Environmental Science and Management from the Bren School at the University of California, Santa Barbara.  Sarah serves as the Chair of the Portland Networking Committee.  Her email is sarah.betz@deainc.com

IMG_2079-L (002).jpg

Rachel Morgan

Rachel is a Staff Engineer at Kennedy/Jenks Consultants. Rachel is a graduate of Stanford University and serves on the Bay Area Mentoring Committee.  Her email is rachelmorgan@kennedyjenks.com



Carrie Rackey

Chair, Communications Committee

Carrie is a Project Manager at Stantec Consulting Services Inc. in Portland.  Carrie has a Bachelors in International Affairs from Florida State University.  She is currently serving as chair of the Communications Committee.  Her email is carrie.rackey@stantec.com


Ginna Demetrios

Chair, Bay Area Communications Committee

Ginna is a Senior Program Manager at Arcadis U.S., Inc. and a graduate of Clark University (BA Geography).  She has been in the environmental remediation industry for over 25 years and serves on WIE’s Bay Area Communications Committee.  Ginna’s email is virginia.demetrios@arcadis.com


Kathryn Oehlschlager

Chair, Bay Area Networking Committee

Kathryn is Partner at Downey Brand LLP. She has a Juris Doctor from UC Hastings and a BA in English from UCLA. She is Chair of the Bay Area Networking Committee


Michelle Peterson

Michelle is an Associate Project Manager at Wood Environment & Infrastructure Solutions, Inc. (Wood) and a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (BS Geology) and Portland State University (MS Geology).  Michelle is a Board Director, a member of the Budget Committee, and the outgoing Treasurer.  Michelle’s e-mail is michelle.peterson@woodplc.com

Jessie-1 (1).jpg

Jessie Schuh

Jessie is an environmental attorney at Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt and holds a JD from Lewis & Clark Law School. In addition to serving on the WIE Board of Directors, Jessie is a member of the Professional Development Committee.  Her email is  jschuh@schwabe.com


Shira DeGrood

Chair, Portland Mentoring Committee

Shira is an Environmental Professional at AECOM. She has a MS in Biogeochemistry from UC Davis and a BS in Microbiology from OSU. Shira is Chair of the Portland Mentoring Committee.


Wendy Watson

Chair, Seattle Education Committee

Wendy is an environmental attorney with non-profit, private, and government sector experience. She received a BS from the University of California, Davis (Evolution and Ecology), an MS from Cornell University (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology), and a JD from the University of Michigan Law School. Her email is wendowatson@gmail.com